jump to navigation

Spoken Word Line February 19, 2008

Posted by Andy in Idea History.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

One of the new features is the Spoken Word line, just below the books on the right there. The principle is the same, but I include links on this one, as I only really listen to things I’ve downloaded from the net. There’s lots to be gained here, though, so take a look.

Listening to these things does help broaden my reading somewhat: I don’t just read what I have to read for my research and other related matters. I read what is available in this format (spoken word, that is, not electronically read books).

One of the interesting results of this is that I have been reading a fair amount of stuff from the early twentieth and late nineteenth centuries: Russell, Chesterton, Nietzsche, Marx, Freud, etc. It makes enlightening reading. Some of these people that seem fairly contemporary to me (Chesterton and Russell in particular) do address the past in ways that now seem impossible. Chesterton’s familiarity with the Mediaeval and Celtic ways and literature for example give you the tail end of a dream of something that was once retrievable. It does not seem so now. Russell argues with Kant and Hegel as if they were at a seminar together.

Listening to these works takes us back to a time before the UN and the EU, before the failure of colonial liberation, and before we betrayed one another’s humanity by an all-too-serious game of slaughter in the ditches of Europe.

Comments»

1. jeffrey biebighauser - March 12, 2008

I clicked on one of the links to see if what I thought was going on here was *really* going on. Seriously, you’re going to *listen* to Kant? to Aristotle?? Unbelievable.

2. augustinian - March 13, 2008

Yeah, well Kant’s critique of pure reason was a bit of a long slog, so I read it immediately beforehand. Very good to secure a book in your memory. I’m now doing Cassian, and it’s extremely helpful.

This is great for books you should read but don’t expect to get time to before you hand in your phd in a matter of months maybe…

The people sound real nice.


Leave a Reply

